Naama Tsabar: Estuaries at Hamburger Bahnhof - Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart

April 12 – September 22, 2024

Naama Tsabar's art overcomes the boundaries of sculpture, music, performance and architecture: Hamburger Bahnhof presents the installation and performance artist with her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany.


The exhibition focuses on three bodies of work with wall and floor works that also function as musical instruments and can be activated by the audience. The performance, created especially in the exhibition, is developed in close collaboration with a group of female identifying or gender non-confirming musicians and performers from Berlin and New York. With the use of felt in connection with sound, Naama Tsabar corresponds with works by Joseph Beuys, which are also shown in parallel in the Kleihueshalle. The exhibition is the first in a series of contemporary presentations in dialogue with the presentation of Beuys’ works in the collection.


Naama Tsabar (b. 1982, lives and works in New York) reveals hidden spaces and systems in her interactive works, re-defining gendered narratives and shifting the viewing experience to a moment of active participation. Her sculptures and installations can be played upon by the audience or in collaborative performances. In the transformational process between sculpture and instrument, between form and sound, the intimate, sensual, corporeal potential of her works becomes tangible. By collaborating with local groups of performers defined as female or non-binary, Tsabar is writing a new feminist and queer history of fluency.


The performances on the opening weekend are an integral part of the exhibition. Naama Tsabar, in collaboration with musicians and performers from New York and Berlin, will develop a composition that will be performed in the exhibition and musically activate the works on display from the series Works On Felt, Inversions and Melodies of Certain Damage. The entire exhibition space will become a resonating space in which the audience can move freely around the performers.

Composed and performed by Julia Biłat, Gabriela Burdsall, Arone Dyer, Tatiana Heuman, Naïma Mazic, Rasha Nahas, Avishag Cohen Rodrigues, Sarah Strauss, Naama Tsabar

  • Friday, 12 April 2024: 7 pm and 8 pm
  • Saturday, 13 April 2024: 7 pm and 8 pm

Tickets are available via Reservix.

In collaboration with Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e. V. Supported by Artis.


Accompanying the exhibition is the fourth edition of the Hamburger Bahnhof catalog series, published by Silvana Editoriale Milano.


The exhibition is curated by Ingrid Buschmann, curator at Hamburger Bahnhof – Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart

April 10, 2024